GCxGC Awards

The symposium annually awards the leaders in the GCxGC field who have made significant contributions in instrument development, applications, theory, software, and/or have contributed to the continued growth of the technology.  There are 3 types of awards, which are described below:

Scientific Achievement Award

The Scientific Achievement Award (also called the Lifetime Achievement

Award) was instituted in 2011, and recognizes GCxGC scientists who have 15 or more years of continuous contributions in the field.  Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Scientific Achievement Award was not presented last year.  The award lectures for 2020 and 2021 will be given at this year's symposium.  Click on the GCxGC icon to get the full list of Scientific Achievement Award winners.

BW logo 2.png
John B. Phillips Award

The Phillips Award (first given in 2004 to honor the memory of Prof. John B. Phillips, the inventor of GCxGC) recognizes individuals who have typically worked in the GCxGC field for less than 10 years but have demonstrated good leadership through their scientific peer-reviewed work.  Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Phillips award was not held in 2020, but both awardees (for 2020 and 2021) will be presenting lectures at this virtual symposium.  For a full list of the John B. Phillips awards, please click on Prof. Phillips's picture.

Phillips Picture.png
Richard D. Sacks Award

The Sacks Awards were established in 2013 to honor the memory of Prof. Richard D. Sacks, a world-renowned analytical chemist who embraced the GCxGC technology in his laboratory at the University of Michigan (USA) for a few years before his untimely death in February 2006. These awards recognize the 3 most outstanding student presentations at the symposium, which are selected by members of the organizing committee.  Please click on Prof. Sacks's picture to access the full list of Sacks Awards winners.

Sacks Picture.png